São Paulo, Brazil

42.


Samuel Fischer Guest Professor

© Julia Moraes

Bernardo Carvalho

This winter semester the Brazilian writer, journalist and playwright Bernardo Carvalho will be our guest. Carvalho, born in 1960 in Rio de Janeiro, initially worked as a journalist and foreign correspondent for the Brazilian daily newspaper "Folha de São Paulo" in Paris and New York. When his post was cancelled due to the Brazilian economic crisis, he spontaneously decided to stay in New York for a few months to start his career as a writer.
His debut Aberração, a collection of short stories that was immediately nominated for the country's most important literary prize, appeared in 1993. In this volume, the leitmotifs already emerge, which in many variations run through the 11 following novels: Secrets to be revealed, the past that permeates the present, poetry and truth that are inextricably entangled, the play with different perspectives and identities. Unlike in France, where Carvalho's work was translated from the outset, it took until 2006 in Germany when his fifth novel Nove Noites ("Nine Nights") helped him achieve an international breakthrough. The fiction is based on a true story, the fate of the young American anthropologist Buell Quain, who took for inexplicable reasons his own life in the cruelest way in the Brazilian jungle in 1939, during a research stay with the Krahô Indians threatened with extinction. The mixture of documentary travelogue, short history of anthropology and adventurous educational novel was awarded two of the most prestigious prizes for literature in Portuguese. In the following novels, Carvalho spans his fictional universe further and further: in Mongólia, he leads a Brazilian diplomat against his will from Shanghai via Beijing to Mongolia. In O sol se põe em São Paulo ("In São Paulo, the sun sets") a descendant from Japanese immigrants, sets off from his hometown of São Paulo in search of traces in his country of origin. In O Filho da Mãe ("Three Hundred Bridges"), Carvalho describes the struggle of Russian soldier mothers and the lot of Chechen refugees. His last two novels Reprodução and Simpatia pelo demônio have not yet been published in German.

„You will enter a terrain where truth and falsehood no longer mean what brought you here.” Bernardo Carvalho, Nine Nights

Seminar "Desire against Identity"

Carvalho's seminar deals with the question of how literature can challenge existing concepts of identity: What exactly is "identity" in the literary context? Is literature a form of statement or an instrument for exploring unknown regions, a form of knowledge, a reflexive activity? How dynamic and contradictory can an identification process be? Against the background of the deep political and identity-building turbulences in Brazil, the seminar will deal with works by authors from different cultural backgrounds.
The seminar will take place from 16 October 2019 on Wednesdays from 10:00 to 12:00 in English at Peter Szondi-Institut für Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft.


Guest Professorship 2019/20



Books

© 2019 VERANSTALTUNGSFORUM DER VERLAGSGRUPPE GEORG VON HOLTZBRINCK GMBH
TAUBENSTRASSE 23 | 10117 BERLIN | TEL +49 (0) 30 27 87 18-0 | CONTACT: CHRISTINE LAULE

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok

São Paulo, Brasilien

42.


Samuel Fischer Gastprofessur

© Julia Moraes

Bernardo Carvalho

In diesem Wintersemester ist der brasilianische Schriftsteller, Journalist und Dramatiker Bernardo Carvalho unser Gast. Carvalho, 1960 in Rio de Janeiro geboren, war zunächst journalistisch als Redakteur und Auslandskorrespondent für die brasilianische Tageszeitung „Folha de São Paulo“ in Paris und New York tätig. Als sein Posten aufgrund der brasilianischen Wirtschaftskrise gestrichen wurde, entschied er spontan, noch einige Monate in New York zu bleiben, um literarisch zu schreiben.
Mit Erfolg: 1993 erschien sein Debüt Aberração, eine Sammlung von Kurzgeschichten, die auf Anhieb für den wichtigsten Literaturpreis des Landes nominiert wurde. In diesem Band tauchen bereits die Leitmotive auf, die sich in vielen Varianten durch die 11 folgenden Romane ziehen: Geheimnisse, die es zu enthüllen gilt, Vergangenes, das die Gegenwart durchdringt, Dichtung und Wahrheit, die unentwirrbar verstrickt sind, das Spiel mit verschiedenen Perspektiven und Identitäten. Anders als in Frankreich, wo Carvalhos Werk von Anfang an übersetzt wurde, dauerte es in Deutschland bis 2006, als ihm sein fünfter Roman Nove Noites („Neun Nächte“) zum internationalen Durchbruch verhalf. Die Fiktion beruht auf einer wahren Geschichte, dem Schicksal des jungen amerikanischen Anthropologen Buell Quain, der sich während eines Forschungsaufenthalts bei den vom Aussterben bedrohten Krahô-Indianern im brasilianischen Urwald 1939 aus unerfindlichen Gründen und auf grausamste Weise das Leben nahm. Die Mischung aus dokumentarischem Reisebericht, kleiner Geschichte der Anthropologie und abenteuerlichem Bildungsroman wurde mit zwei der renommiertesten Preise für portugiesischsprachige Literatur ausgezeichnet. In den folgenden Romanen spannt Carvalho sein fiktives Universum immer weiter: In Mongólia führt er einen brasilianischen Diplomaten gegen seinen Willen von Schanghai über Peking in die Mongolei. In O sol se põe em São Paulo („In São Paulo geht die Sonne unter“) begibt sich ein arbeitsloser Werbetexter, der von japanischen Einwanderern abstammt, von seiner Heimatstadt São Paulo in sein Herkunftsland auf Spurensuche. In O Filho da Mãe („Dreihundert Brücken“) beschreibt Carvalho den Kampf russischer Soldatenmütter und das Los tschetschenischer Flüchtlinge. Seine letzten beiden Romane Reprodução und Simpatia pelo demônio sind bisher noch nicht auf Deutsch erschienen.

„Sie werden ein Terrain betreten, wo Wahrheit und Lüge nicht mehr das bedeuten, was Sie hierhergeführt hat.” Bernardo Carvalho, Neun Nächte

Seminar

“Desire against Identity“

Carvalhos Seminar beschäftigt sich mit der Frage, wie Literatur bestehende Identitätskonzepte herausfordern kann: Was genau ist „Identität“ im literarischen Kontext? Ist Literatur eine Aussageform oder ein Instrument zur Erforschung unbekannter Regionen, eine Form des Wissens, eine reflexive Aktivität? Wie dynamisch und widersprüchlich kann ein Identifikationsprozess sein? Vor dem Hintergrund der tiefen politischen und identitätsstiftenden Turbulenzen in Brasilien setzt sich das Seminar mit Werken von Autor*innen unterschiedlicher kultureller Hintergründe auseinander.
Das Seminar findet ab dem 16. Oktober 2019 mittwochs von 10:00 bis 12:00 Uhr in englischer Sprache am Peter Szondi-Institut für Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft statt.


Gastprofessur 2019/20




Bücher

© 2019 VERANSTALTUNGSFORUM DER VERLAGSGRUPPE GEORG VON HOLTZBRINCK GMBH
TAUBENSTRASSE 23 | 10117 BERLIN | TEL +49 (0) 30 27 87 18-0 | CONTACT: CHRISTINE LAULE

Cookies erleichtern die Bereitstellung unserer Dienste. Mit der Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden.
Weitere Informationen Ok